ONE VINE DAY

Been a little quiet on the grapevine lately, which is not me at all, but doing gardening sometimes takes priority over talking gardening, right?

Having to bury our recently departed and dearly loved  puss took me into a corner of our large front yard I had not been for some weeks and I was puzzled to see a large tree in what appeared to be full pink bloom.

But this was my old and dignified parrot tree and its flowers were a vibrant red?.

Myopia is a particular curse outdoors, so on went my specs and a closer inspection revealed it had been overrun by a rampant antignon  – or coral vine, as it is more commonly known. This vine has very pretty, dainty hot pink flowers springing from a mass of interesting heart-shaped, veiny leaves and curly tendrils, but a determined and difficult little mother to keep in its place. It is a native of Mexico and a true Speedy Gonzales, it’s fast-growing and will reach 15m up a host tree or support  in a matter of weeks.

My garden specimen must have come from a bird dropping. Recent wet weather and my inattention to that corner allowed it to thrive and climb unhindered for about six metres and spread likewise.

The antignon is ideal if you have a fence you want covered and it can also be grown over an archway or a tree for something different. .

Mine formed a dazzling vista but left unchecked it would have strangled the tree and surrounding vegetation, so a hacking operation went underway.

It is vine on a mission, indeed. I remember it growing wildly up the battens at the side of our childhood home and I swear if we dawdled or stopped on the path alongside, its tendrils stretching out like triffid arms, would wrap around us almost as we stood there. It also used to house large and scary brown grasshoppers that seemed to make no dent on its foliage, but would jump out and frighten the bejesus out of  anyone brushing past. I learnt to take that path in about three bounds. My best training of all for the school sprint team.

The upside of the discovery was pretty cut flowers for all the vases I could find. As Aristotle said: ” In all things of nature, there is something of the marvellous”.

CRYSTAL GAZING

I bought a garden product last week I have never used before  – soil wetting crystals.  Why didn’t it latch on to this sooner?

No matter how much rain we have, within a few days of a downpour, my pots – and especially the hanging baskets – dried out  quickly. Didn’t seem to make any difference whether they’re plastic, ceramic, woven cane or terracotta, or whether I seal and line them, fill them with sphagnum moss or how much mulch I covered the soil surface with, it seemed to  harden and compact and the plants drooped and curled up their toes, making them v high maintenance and giving me a high attrition rate –  particularly in hot weather.

So this  sort of gelatinous mix – the effect of adding water to the crystals – stirred through the potting mix –  seems to work wonders. So far so good. When I poke my finger in now, there’s a damp and  sort of squishy sensation in the soil.

It reminds me of adding cornflour to gravy or runny casseroles; you get an instant thickening and binding sensation. I will never plant again without it.

CORIANDER FRUSTRATION

It’s  coriander groundhog day. The seedlings I put in a few weeks ago did exactly what all the former attempts I have made to grow it in the past have done; they’ve hung on by a pathetic thread, despite undue care

and attention,  then just shrivelled and died. FTT  ( failure to thrive) is what mothercare nurses used to call it –  when your baby didn’t put on weight every week. Maybe the feng shui isn’t right. Or the chemistry between us is missing.

I love you dearly coriander, but we cannot live together!

So off you go to the naughty corner and I will count my blessings that there’s rocket, thyme, parsley, turmeric,  sage, marjoram, three varieties of  basil, mint, oregano, tarragon and a bay tree all behaving beautifully and obeying the Julie rules.  I will mark coriander absent from here on, and buy or beg it from more successful growers.

One of those little trials of nature. Cannot control everything, see!!!

But then my ABC Gardening Australia pal Jerry Coleby-Williams gave me a tip to fast-track coriander success. I’ll share it with you after I have test driven.

And I hope you are enjoying the energy and passion Costa Georgiadis brings to  Gardening Australia on Saturdays at 6.30pm.  What an inspiration he is and a warm and witty personality too.  Note to self: get some chooks soon.

What are you growing right now with success – or difficulty? Today’s rain has changed my veg garden outlook for the better, that’s for sure. About to pick the bok choy and succession lettuce planting has meant a fresh one again for today’s lunch.

Everyday for many?

Sometimes it’s nice to pick the low-hanging fruit of garden talk.

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Silvana Siliato said,

    We had to deal with antignon at the pilot house on Thursday Island. While it looked pretty from a distance, on closer inspection it had all but strangled the underlying shrubs. It took a mighty effort and careful work to ‘control’ it. Unfortunately we left before the end result but I believe in the end it was finally tamed.

    I love your blog. Between you and my niece Lauren I am encouraged to grow a little herb garden. I have the space, the long rectangular pot and the mulch – now I just need the oomph to get up and do it. Maybe I’ll start with a little coriander ……

  2. 3

    chrissienick said,

    I am so pleased that the coriander if failing to thrive. I think it’s the the worst flavour ever invented and ruins many a delicious dish. I hope Jerry’s tip is to fertilize with agent orange!
    Sorry about your cat

    • 4

      Thanks Susan. I have also tried perennial coriander. That’s the one with the serrated edge leaf, isn’t it? A bit more fiddly to prepare for use, but yes, flavour and fragrance identical. Nowhere near as pretty a plant, though.

    • 5

      Chris, you devil! There’s no accounting for your tastebuds. All that fine dining in Melbourne has ruined your palate. Cant wait to get you here and cook lashings of Thai and Vietnamese for you.

  3. 6

    Susan said,

    have you tried perennial coriander! I have had many failings with traditional coriander, but I am in love with my perennial coriander that I have had in for several months now.

  4. 7

    GEL W said,

    This is not a comment – it is a Question – Is this the right place for a question? – I have the opportunity to “inherit” a neighbour’s Pawpaw Tree – only 2 metres high – lots of GREEN PAWPAWS – first crop of the tree – QUESTION 1. – should I take the GREEN Pawpaws off now ( no sign of them becoming Yellow / Orange ) – QUESTION 2 – how would transplanting the whole tree to my yard go?? – H E L P ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Our Australian Gardens

Design Down Under - diverse landscapes to inspire

The Global Goddess

A single woman's journey

The Greater Brisbane Quest

Two knights taking the road less travelled...

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

Trade News in Brief

International Economic Affairs & Relations / Regional & International Organizations / Global Commerce & Business

Monetise This

A little light reading

Calculating Grace

and finding it doesn't add up

Writing Sisters

Your Story - Our Story - God's Story

Lisa Meekison

Riches: Redefining the Good Life

thefoodsage.wordpress.com/

The Food Sage: A compilation of professional food writing

Retired Ruth

Memories From a Boomer

nixwickedgarden

Blood-drawing Bromeliads & Other Sharp Pointy Plants!

Eat Drink Sleep Shop Australia

For people who move and shop, based in Australia

How to shuck an oyster

On living, writing, reading...and eating

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

uncannyperceptions

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

The Clever Scribe

Freelance Writer, Living in the Midwest

