TO COUCH OR NOT TO COUCH

Bauhinia galpinii  in full bloom

Bauhinia galpinii in full bloom

I HAVE a cup that reminds me to smile and be thankful every day. It has a quote from philosopher Cicero across it, saying: “If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need ”.

It’s true. I do have everything. I have a beautiful space to walk and play in and books in abundance to enjoy, re read and share.

But therein lies the rub. The two are in conflict.

Cicero cupMy love of reading, when I am really indulging it, keeps me out of the garden. Don’t give the plants a thought. Cannot seem to split my day between the two. It’s all or nothing.

I have barely stepped outside lately because I am lost in Tudor England, following the fortunes  and misfortunes of King Henry VIII, Anne Boleyn and Thomas Cromwell in Hilary Mantel’s Bring Up the Bodies. The thought of putting aside how Cromwell brought the ill-fated Queen to trial to put my hands in the soil  is as unthinkable as marrying six times.  Before this, I devoured IBM and The Holocaust and then Voltaire’s Coconuts, followed by Marching Powder. Once it hits, the reading binge is like a  drug fix. I can’t stop nor get enough. Like a smoker  joining one cigarette to the next, I ”chain read” and suffer acute withdrawal symptoms. Nothing outside gets watered, tip pruned, tidied or  even glanced at.

Pink frangipani

Pink frangipani

The Christmas-New Year patch does it to me every time. No scent, sight or shrub can lure me from one couch  – the one on the deck – to the (other) couch, that is, the lawn,  while I’m absorbed with the new Christmas books.

And it is starting to show, oh dear. The recent hot summer winds have parched some beds, wilted plants, shrivelled the potted plumbago, blown leaves all over the paths and pool, knocked over a papaw tree, withered the cabbages and browned the bromeliads. And all while my back was turned and attention caught between the pages of other people’s lives.

Now that I have surfaced for air and looked about the place, I am viewing it like  a glass half empty/half full. I see so much in the garden that needs help and support, is not working and looks terminal thanks to my latest inattention. And it exasperates and flattens me.

Then I look again and see what is  blooming, flourishing and trying hard to please me, despite my neglect and indifference over the recent weeks and that cheers and lifts me.

Ruby mandevilla  in pot and white bleeding heart vine on  pool fence

Ruby mandevilla in pot and white bleeding heart vine on pool fence

It’s all in the mind.

But it takes some re charging and re focussing when you have interrupted the thread of activity – like any pastime – and some renewed zeal is called for to throw yourself back in again. And the energy-sapping heat of sub tropical summer doesn’t help. Lemon, lime and bitters on ice and a comfy sofa with Ian McEwan versus the bending, mulching and trimming ( with blunt clippers)  along the fenceline. Hmmm. Sort of  a no-brainer.

But I have ventured back to feel the luuuv, and counted a score of happy, colourful, healthy plants that I am thankful for; like the gorgeous scented pink and cream frangipanis,

Heavily scented frangipani

Heavily scented frangipani

Reliable pleaser bleeding heart vine

Reliable pleaser bleeding heart vine

that continue to perfume the morning air; the brazen and blowsy pink bleeding heart vine and its nearby white sister, twining around the pool fence and offering bundle after bundle of blooms for the vases. There is the sumptious ruby mandevilla trailing out of its pots and the demure white vinca holding up the shabby little patch near the water tank. Thank you.

I discover that by moving the basil and mint about 20m closer to the house, they have shrugged off the grasshoppers that plagued them and grown plenty of  rich green leaves unhindered – also in the lunch salad,  thank you.

The cape honeysuckle with its bright orange flowers pushes courageously on after a brutal trim by a storm earlier in the summer and my variegated hibiscus have shed their pest-borne disease and and are stretching and glowing with healthy red blooms. The tomatoes, shallots and cucumbers are doing well – just had them in our lunch salad – and some new lettuces are in train for picking weeks to come.

There’s a crop of brilliant blue and white agapanthus to cut for the table and the tangerine blossoms of the hardy driveway bauhinia galpini waving gloriously at me, seeming to say: “When you’re ready; no hurry. Would love a visit.”

Does this “slackening off” happen to other gardeners? Am I not a true practitioner, merely a distracted dilettante?

I slip on my gloves and boots, slap on the hat and all is well.

Happy 2013 in your garden.

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Silvana said,

    Julie – reading vs gardening is a no brainer in this heat, so you’re doing the right thing 🙂 I find that that when the temp drops in the late afternoon/early evening I am called to the outdoors and I then enjoy and bit of weeding and pruning.

    Your garden is lovely – from what I can see in your pics and from what I can remember from my last visit – so sit back, relax and finish your books 🙂

    BTW – would love to read “Bring Up the Bodies” (hint, hint) LOL

    S xo

    • 2

      So true. The early evenings are the best time for the garden, aren’t they? And you can call it wine time and walk about with something cool and white in hand. I have borrowed my copy of Bring up the Bodies, or I would lend. But do try to get hold of it . read Wolf Hall first, though. The again, you sound like you wont have much reading time for a while. Good luck with the move. Looking forward to seeing your new house – and garden.

  2. 3

    It gets pretty hot/humid here by mid-summer and going outside to endure it is such a chore. I try to go out in the morning before it’s too miserable out. I have a lot of energy and tend to pop from one thing to another. Even though I love to read, I can only do it for so long before I need to hop up and move, move, move. Your garden looks beautiful! It looks tremendously well tended. My garden is currently sound asleep. 🙂

  3. 5

    Susan Walker said,

    The pool and potted plants look fabulous! Well done Julie!

  4. 7

    Hi there i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anywhere, when i read this
    post i thought i could also make comment due to this brilliant paragraph.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Our Australian Gardens

Design Down Under - diverse landscapes to inspire

The Global Goddess

A single woman's journey

Victoria Walters

Author and Blogger

The Greater Brisbane Quest

Two knights taking the road less travelled...

The Neighborhood

telling the story from every vantage point

Trade News in Brief

International Economic Affairs & Relations / Regional & International Organizations / Global Commerce & Business

Monetise This

A little light reading

Calculating Grace

and finding it doesn't add up

Writing Sisters

Your Story - Our Story - God's Story

Lisa Meekison

Riches: Redefining the Good Life

thefoodsage.wordpress.com/

The Food Sage: A compilation of professional food writing

Retired Ruth

Memories From a Boomer

nixwickedgarden

Blood-drawing Bromeliads & Other Sharp Pointy Plants!

Eat Drink Sleep Shop Australia

For people who move and shop, based in Australia

How to shuck an oyster

On living, writing, reading...and eating

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

uncannyperceptions

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

The Clever Scribe

Freelance Writer, Living in the Midwest

